gratitude


I re-learned a good lesson today.

Maybe more than one lesson.

I offered to visit a woman who is a client of a regular client of mine.  They offered to come here to my place for a fitting on some slacks………..however, the gal has MS, and I just thought it would be easier for me to go to her house (within a mile of me), instead of them coming to my house.

I’m certain it was easier for me.    Daily life is more than difficult for my new Client W.  I was so impressed with her outlook on life, and when I wasn’t thinking of how to alter her slacks to fit better in a sitting position………I kept wondering how would I manage if I was in her place?

I am so grateful for so many things, and today really drove a few home!  To be able to do what I want (most of the time) and not be totally dependent on others have to top my list.

I am grateful for my regular client S, as she was the only way I could communicate with Client W.  I will need to hone my listening skills, and remember to stop what I’m doing when listening.

I am going to make a pair of fingerless mitts for W, as her hands have very little circulation and are always cold.  She was using a scarf to cover them in the house….   I can do better than that I think.  I’ll dig through some of my yummy new yarn, and come up with something warm and soft for a quick little pair.  Fingers won’t work, as she needs to put the control to her chair between her fingers.  I think the fingerless mitts just might work.

My visit to W’s home took just a bit of time this AM……….the rest of the time was spent working on jackets for Client A.  I’ve had to email for further direction, as the pattern and the sample didn’t match.  Directions for a French Seam finish, the sample had no seam, and I think flat felled is what is called for.  Will have to wait for tomorrow……..as I’m done for the night here.  Running out of functioning brain cells!

2 thoughts on “gratitude

  1. I’m sure client W appreciated your going to her home. I know many times I want to ask service providers to do things a little differently for me than they would for other customers, due to my disability. But I’m ashamed to ask.

  2. I was thinking of you when I visited this Client. Good thoughts.

    You should seriously ask any service provider if you would like them to come to your home. The worst thing that could happen is they say “no”.
    I include the idea of pick up/drop off service in my Craigslist ad all the time, wording it ……….If you have special circumstances, please let me know……….. I have met some of the greatest clients this way, and most become great friends too.

    You should ask! 🙂 Or, we should live closer to each other!

Leave a Reply

