Flavors of Autumn


One of my favorite things at this time of year has to be fresh apples.  Not the ones that have been in cold storage, but the ones that have recently been on a tree!  When they are fresh and so crisp and juicy, it seems a shame to “do” something else to them.  So, I’ve used this little recipe for years. Probably decades!

 

 

 

 

 

Caramel Fruit Dip

8 oz creme cheese (softened)

1 cup brown sugar (packed)

1 T vanilla

Blend well.  I use the wisk for my hand mixer for this job.

The dip is certainly good to go as soon as you get it mixed up, but if I have time, I like it better after it has a chance to sit for at least an hour. The sugar melts into the creme cheese, so it becomes smooth and silky.  I have no research as to how long this keeps in the fridge.  It has a very short shelf life at my house.

I usually dip out a bit in individual custard cups, so each person has their own.  I slice my apples at the last minute, tossing them on a plate with the serving of the dip.  Absolutely yummy and a great way to showcase Washington apples!

 

Leave a Reply

