Vintage Yarn + Hat Experimentation


I’ve been tweaking a hat pattern to come up with something new knitters can make on circular needles.  Most of my beginning students don’t want to work on a project that needs seaming up when the knitting is finished.  Many of my beginners would like to try circular needles………..as well as move on to making a hat instead of being stuck in the ‘scarf knitter only’ category.

I’ve made up 5 of these hats over this past holiday week.  An easy project, uses a minimal amount of yarn and is a great transition project for people who request a class to move beyond scarves.

I love this version, using a vintage mohair yarn I have been wanting to “play” with.  So much going on with this yarn, it needed a very simple pattern so it could show off on its own.

knit beanie by stitchknit

Knit Hat by Stitchknit

I’m anxious for some of my new knitting students to give this a try!

Just listed this sparkly number here in my Etsy shop!

Leave a Reply

