May Roundup


The month is almost over…….    I did follow through with my proposed changes for StitchKnit……..    And, as experiments go, I’m pretty happy.

I’m enjoying the new hours for the shop.   10-5 Wednesday through Saturday.   Opening an hour later, as well as closing on Tuesdays, is giving me more sewing time.  Blocks of time.   I was finding it hard to figure out, just when was a good time to get a wedding dress out, turn it inside out, and get it into a sewing machine!  Now, Tuesday’s are set aside for the large projects and it has been working well.

Harder for me, was my plan to hold off on taking any orders that had specific deadlines.   Prom season was a tough time to try this idea, however I had plenty of practice weighing whether or not, I could take on another prom dress.   I still can’t come up with a formula to help me decide.   Every week, the jobs are different.  And, I’m still the only one sewing……..and, yes, there are a limited number of hours in the week.

One of the best things to come about, was finding someone to assist in the sewing room.  I have a young lady who is helping out on Saturdays and making me feel much more organized.

Looking forward to June, and yes, looking forward to the last prom dress being finished for the season!

I’ll keep you posted………

Leave a comment