Elastic


Who knew the world would suffer an elastic shortage? Even a month ago, I probably would have thought it impossible. However………I’ve used up my personal stash of appropriate elastic and am now experimenting with things a bit outside the box.

Trying to fold 1/2″ elastic to make something smaller that isn’t weird behind ones ears.

I have hundreds of yards of this flowered elastic and love how soft it is. This is my first attempt at folding it and running a small zig zag stitch right down the center. Still very stretchy……..and now narrow enough to slip behind my ears. I’ll make up a sample mask tomorrow and stick in my sample 1/4″ elastic in to see if the whole thing works.

I have elastic ordered from any vendor I’ve used before, but have nothing arriving before the middle of May at the earliest. If this folded elastic works, I have another soft, 1/2″ blue elastic in line for the next experiment.

I am making fabric ties………….but, I’m really not enjoying that method. Fiddling with my elastic seems easier & quicker!

Leave a comment